Indoor Tri
The Perfect Introduction to Tri

Indoor Tri Returns | Registration Is Now Open!

Capitalizing on an incredible 2018 season, Life Time Tri is proud to expand to 100 Indoor Triathlon locations in late January 2019. The full list of locations is listed below, each limited to 100 participants. Register now to guarantee entry, especially before prices increase on Monday, December 17 (details below).

Registration is now open!

Registration is now open!

List of 2019 Indoor Tri Locations

STATE CLUB LOCATION DATE RACE DIRECTOR CONTACT EMAIL
AL Vestavia 1/27 Andrea Austin dea.austin2@gmail.com
AZ Gilbert 1/27 Samantha Shultz sshultz@lt.life
AZ Tempe 1/20 Chuck Carter ccarter4@lt.life
AZ North Scottsdale 1/20 Ryan Mollica rmollica@lt.life
CA Folsom 1/27 Cody Forman cforman@lt.life
CA Roseville 1/27 Mario Mijango mmijango@lt.life
CA Laguna Niguel 1/27 Jason Graney jgraney@lt.life
CANADA Ajax 1/20 Wayne Young wyoung4@lt.life
CANADA Mississauga 1/20 Lori Bellerby lbellerby@lt.life
CO Centennial 1/20 Stephen Acuna sacuna@lt.life
CO Colorado Springs 1/20 Aimee Monck amonck@lt.life
CO Flatirons 1/27 Andrea Bruski Abruski@lt.life
CO Parker 1/27 Jennifer Hoban jhoban@lt.life
CO Westminster 1/20 Andrea Bruski abruski@lt.life
GA Alpharetta 1/20 Ken Koontz kkoontz@lt.life
GA Atlanta 1/20 Hallie Chase
GA Sugarloaf 1/20 Brenda Sovine brenda_sovine@yahoo.com
GA Woodstock 1/27 Ken Koontz kkoontz@lt.life
IA Des Moines 1/20 Lisa Knowler lknowler@lt.life
IL Algonquin 1/20 Karie Stringer kstringer@lt.life
IL Bloomingdale 1/20 Linnea Carsten lcorsten@lt.life
IL Burr Ridge 1/20 Angel Arflack aarflack@lt.life
IL Northbrook 1/27 Lynn Flentye lflentye@lt.life
IL Old Orchard 1/20 Lynn Flentye lflentye@lt.life
IL Romeoville 1/20 Deborah Barnat dbarnat@lt.life
IL Schaumburg 1/27 Lynn Flentye lflentye@lt.life
IL Warrenville 1/27 Jessica Rangel jrangel2@lt.life
IL Vernon Hills 1/20 Kathleen Gross kgross@lt.life
IN Castle Creek 1/20 Katie Dalton kdalton@lt.life
IN North Meridian 1/20 John Oei joei@lt.life
KS Lenexa 1/20 Josh Wolf jwolf@lt.life
MA BMW 1/27 Kostas Agiomavritis kagiomavritis@lt.life
MA Burlington 1/27 Wes Meserve wmeserve@lt.life
MA Westwood 1/27 Elisabeth Veilleux eveilleux@lt.life
MD Columbia 1/20 Paul Garner pgarner@lt.life
MD Gaithersburg 1/20 Maximiliano Bolanos mbolanos@lt.life
MI Bloomfield 1/20 Amelia Grzyb agrzyb@lt.life
MI Commerce 1/27 Rosemary Buie rbuie@lt.life
MI Novi 1/20 Shari Berry sberry3@lt.life
MI Rochester Hills 1/20 Robyn Konarski rkonarski@lt.life
MI Shelby Township 1/27 Morgan Derouin mderouin@lt.life
MN Chanhassen 1/20 Ben Harding bharding@lt.life
MN Coon Rapids 1/20 Terry Branckney TBrackney@lt.life
MN Eagan 1/27 Lisa Kresky-Griffin LKresky-griffin@lt.life
MN Fridley 1/20 Tiffany Press tpress@lt.life
MN Lakeville 1/20 Anthony Vukovics avukovics@lt.life
MN Plymouth SOLD OUT 1/20 Tiffany Berenberg tberenberg@lt.life
MN St. Louis Park 1/20 Jenessa Pearson jpearson@lt.life
MO West County 1/27 Nathan Kortuem NKortuem@lt.life
NC Cary 1/27 Paul Bengds pbengds@lt.life
NC Charlotte 1/20 Bruce Mann bmann@lt.life
NC Raleigh 1/20 Jennifer Corigliano jcorigliano@lt.life
NE Omaha 1/27 Katie Cords kcords@cox.net
NJ Bergen County SOLD OUT 1/27 Mike Curcio mtvlifetimetri@gmail.com
NJ Berkeley Heights 1/27 Dan Donlevie ddonlevie@lt.life
NJ Florham Park 1/20 Katherine Simnor ksimnor@lt.life
NJ Princeton 1/27 Allison Lee alee5@lt.life
NJ Mount Laurel SOLD OUT 1/2o Deron Guerra dguerra@lt.life
NV Green Valley 1/27 Tamera Finley tfinley@lt.life
NV Summerlin 1/20 Ryan Hamilton rhamilton@lt.life
NY Syosset SOLD OUT 1/27 Laura Ryan lryan@lt.life
NY Westchester 1/20 Anim Swart aswart@lt.life
OH BCH 1/20 Michael Brown mbrown4@lt.life
OH Deerfield Township 1/27 Anthony Ross aross@lt.life
OH Dublin  SOLD OUT 1/20 Sandy Donald sandeeman@aol.com
OH Easton SOLD OUT 1/20 Lynette Maggard lmaggard@lt.life
OK Oklahoma City 1/20 Gina Hendrickson hendrickson.gina@yahoo.com
OK South Tulsa 1/27 Bridgette McIver bmcIver@lt.life
PA Ft. Washington 1/27 Jess Kelly jkelly3@lt.life
PA King of Prussia 1/27 Katie Boyd kboyd@lt.life
TN CLV 1/27 Misty Rackham mrackham@lt.life
TN Franklin 1/20 Armand Devoir adevoir@lt.life
TX Austin South 1/27 Shannon Switzer sswitzer@lt.life
TX Austin Arboretum 1/27 Peri Kowal pkowal@lt.life
TX Austin North 1/20 Cameron Rattray crattray@lt.life
TX ALN 1/20 Jeff Mangan jmangan@lt.life
TX Ft. Worth Alliance 1/27 Mickey Hamer mhammer@lt.life
TX Flower Mound 1/27 Katie Tyler ktyler@lt.life
TX Garland 1/27 Juhi juhis924@gmail.com
TX Mansfield 1/20 Lee Weber lwebber@lt.life
TX North Dallas 1/20 Jenn Bodnar jbodnar@lt.life
TX Plano 1/20 Todd Codish toddcodish@gmail.com
TX Champions 1/27 Kathryn Bergeron kbergeronhead@lt.life
TX Cinco Ranch 1/27 Greg Nunn gnunn@lt.life
TX Colleyville 1/27 Wade Braun WBraun@lt.life
TX Cypress 1/27 Iliana Romero iromero@lt.life
TX Kingwood 1/27 Anikka Ayala Rogers anikkaayala@gmail.com
TX Sugarland 1/27 Megan Stevens mstevens2@lt.life
TX San Antonio 1/27 Pete Martinez pmartinez@lt.life
VA Fairfax  SOLD OUT 1/27 Dave Connor hyperhokie@gmail.com
VA Centreville 1/20 Rebecca Machtemes fit4menj@outlook.com
VA Reston 1/20 Brian Crow bcrow@lt.life

Results from Previous Events

CLICK HERE to view/download results from our Spring 2018 (March & April) Indoor Triathlons (revised 4/29).

CLICK HERE to view/download results from our January 2018 events (revised 2/19).

CLICK HERE to view results from previous year events.

Scoring Overview: The Indoor Triathlon is based on time rather than distance – meaning you receive points for going further in a specific period of time, not going faster over a fixed distance. Participants are graded on a curve. The furthest distance in each category gets the most points (actual number is based on total participants), the shortest receives 1 point, and your “score” for the discipline is based on the points you achieve. All three disciplines count equally toward your final score.

Event Divisions: Ranking are provided for Overall, Open Men (39 years and younger), Open Women, Masters Men (ages 40+) and Masters Women (40+).

Reference the full event rules and scoring details HERE.

Questions? Contact us at events@lt.life

New in 2019: Indoor Triathlon Relay Division!
Not quite ready to do it all? Grab your friends and form an Indoor Tri Relay Team!  What better way to get involved, have a great workout while cheering on your teammates to victory! The cumulative distance covered by your swimmer (10 min. swim), cyclist (30 min. bike)  and runner (20 min run) will rank your team in the new Relay Division.  Creative team names are highly encouraged!

Life Time Tri’s mission is to inspire athletes of all athletic abilities to consider and commit to triathlon in 2019. We believe triathlon to be the ultimate gateway to a Healthy Way of Life, and cordially invite you into the sport’s perfect launch pad:

In 2018, Life Time Fitness hosted more than 60 Indoor Triathlon events across North America. These club-based events offer inspirationally-charged, safe and simulated environment for athletes of all fitness levels. More than 6,000 athletes completed these events in 2018 alone, more than half of whom had zero previous experience.

Upon becoming an indoor triathlete, it’s our hope to inspire finishers to consider participating in one of our outdoor Life Time Tri Series races, featuring: Super Sprint, Sprint and International distances.

Regardless of history, athleticism or goals, our Life Time Tri team is here to support your journey and celebrate your accomplishments along the way. We hope to see you soon!

What is Indoor Tri?

The indoor triathlon is based on time rather than distance — meaning you receive points for going further in a specific period of time, not going faster over a fixed distance. The total event lasts for 75 minutes, consisting of:

  • Swim: 10 minutes in the pool
  • Transition 1: 10-minutes (move from the pool to cycle studio)
  • Bike: 30 minutes on an indoor bike
  • Transition 2: 5-minutes  (move from the cycle studio to treadmills)
  • Run: 20 minutes on a treadmill

Participants are graded on a curve. The furthest distance in each category gets the most points (actual number is based on total participants) and the shortest receives one point. Your “score” for the discipline is based on the points you achieve. All three disciplines count equally toward your final score. Therefore, your rank and score will not be determined until all participants have completed the event.

Transition times are fixed between events and do not count toward participants’ scores.

Click here to read the full rules.

Life Time Indoor Tri 101 Webinar | 12.5.18

Register and Receive

Register for just $30 ($35 after December 16), receive a host of gifts below and become a triathlete in just 60 minutes!  All 2019 participants will receive:

  • 16 oz Double Wall Stainless Steel Thermal Tumbler (pictured) 
  • Swim Cap
  • Race bib
  • Online results
  • $10 coupon for 2019 Life Time Tri (outdoor) events
  • Special offers for Life Time Endurance training and club membership

Indoor Tri events are open to both members and non-members of Life Time Fitness, ages 12 and over.
Relay Teams:  Only the Team Captain needs to register and pay the registration fee for the team.

Life Time Tri TEAM Apparel  40% Off!

Stock up on high quality, technical triathlon workout and racing apparel by VOLER.  From triathlon tops to cycling jerseys to 2XU Tri Transition backpacks, you’ll look great and race fast! Hurry, quantities are limited! Click here to shop now.

Training

Complimentary 8-Week Training Plan
Ready to train on your own for the Indoor Tri? Download our 8-Week Intro Training Plan (beginning the week of Febuary 19) to help you prepare for your big day. This plan is complimentary for Life Time Members and the General Public.

Intro 8-Wk Indoor Tri Training Plan (Complimentary)

Train with the Life Time Tri Team! 

Training for a triathlon can be a fun, social and rewarding experience. Join a chapter of the Life Time Tri TEAM at select locations throughout the Nation, led by a certified Life Time Tri Coach. Take advantage of weekly group training sessions, technique development advice, monthly training plans, social activities, Life Time Race Series discounts and other Tri Team member benefits.

For athletes of all levels and abilities, from beginners to elite, the Life Time Tri Team has something for everyone!  For more information, visit www.lifetimeendurance.com, contact the Tri Coach at your Life Time, or email the Head Coach, Troy Jacobson (TJacobson@lt.life).

Special Limited Offer! Get a Free 30 minute Coaching Consultation with a Life Time Coach to discuss your ideal training plan.  To schedule your complimentary appointment, contact Troy Jacobson at TJacobson@lt.life.

(Offer available for a limited time and with limited availability. Please contact us today for more information.)

Frequently Asked Questions

We measure your swim distance in lengths, not laps. Each time you touch the wall counts as one length. Volunteers will be at each lane counting for you — all you have to do is swim!

No, you can swim any stroke you like, including dog paddle, side stroke, elementary backstroke, etc. You may even walk, if absolutely necessary. Whatever keeps you moving in the water.

You may rest on the walls, hold onto the lane line or stand on the bottom of the pool to rest. You may stop and rest for as long as you like, but keep in mind the clock is ticking!

No. We do not allow any flotation devices or snorkels/fins to be used during the swim.

The locker rooms will serve as your transition area. You will have 10 minutes to change out of your suit, into your biking and running gear. This goes by much faster than you think, so keep moving. You should bring your running stuff with you to the spin studio as you will not have time to go back to the locker room after the cycle portion. If you are not a Life Time member, we will provide you with a locker key for use during the event.

All participants will use the indoor bikes located in the spin studio. Bikes for the event will be set in two rows near the front of the studio.

All bikes in the 2018 Indoor Tri events will have a power console that can accurately track distance, speed and power.  The distance shown on the power console after the 30 minute cycle portion will be captured by an event volunteer.

Each participant will be able to set their own resistance at a level that is comfortable for their ability.  Keep in mind, injuries can occur if you spin too fast so we recommend each participant set the tension at a level that is safe and comfortable based on their cycle experience.

You may leave the incline at zero on the treadmill or any higher setting that you prefer.

Absolutely. Headphones are allowed for the bike and run (and for those of you techies with the waterproof headphones, you may use them in the pool as well). Keep in mind we will have music playing overhead in the cycle studio.

Results will be posted following the conclusion of the event on this site.

Total available points are based on the total number of participants in the event. For this example, let’s say there are 100 people in event. The athlete who swam the farthest in the pool receives 100 points. The second farthest swim receives 99 points and so on. Same for the bike and run. The three scores for each participant are totaled for an overall score.

Yes, although children must be 12 years of age or older to participate in the Indoor Tri.

Are You Ready to Tri? View our new anthem video, then click here to learn all about our exciting new Life Time Tri initiatives — all designed to make this sport a bit simpler, more convenient and first-timer friendly.

Volunteer

Be part of the IN crowd, volunteer at your local Indoor Tri!
There’s no better way to get inspired and see what Indoor Triathlon is all about than by volunteering. All volunteers receive an Indoor Tri water bottle, and the satisfaction of supporting so many people through their special day.

Event Crew are needed for the following:

  • Participant check-in
  • Recording of distance for swim, bike and treadmills
  • Transitions

Event Crew are required to be on site one hour prior the event and may be asked to stay no later than one hour following the event.

If you have any questions about volunteer opportunities, please contact your local Race Director.

Contact Us

Have questions on the Indoor Tri?
Email us at indoortri@lt.life.

Sponsors